Things given to a child: Recess, Summer Break and a limitless imagination

Childhood is a precious time in one’s life that doesn’t last nearly as long as it should. It’s also often under-appreciated until its complete. There are many opportunities that are only open when you’re a child, many things that you believe and hope for at such a precious age. What do you miss the most from your childhood?

There are three very specific things that I miss the most from when I was a child. Three things that I will probably never get back or certainly not have the same way I did when I was young.

1. recess.

I don’t know about you but I miss having scheduled breaks in my day. I used to think recess was pointless when I was young. I definitely didn’t want to go through the whole school day without any breaks but after a while, it can’t help but get kind of boring on the playground. I should have know to enjoy every last minute of it, played more games,run around playing tag when I could, hang out with my friends. What I wouldn’t give for real recess nowadays. Instead my breaks consist of moving from one task to another.

2. summer break.

If you’re a student, you’re still fortunate enough to get summer breaks each year. However, my summer breaks now are nothing like they were when I was young. No more days of summer camp, days at the pool, hanging out with friends, catching up on cartoons, going to the waterpark…etc Nowadays my summer is focused on working, making money and if not those, certainly improving myself so that I could get a job. It’s all about the future and not so much about the summer at hand. It’s a shame really. I always thought I’d have more summers to come. Now I’m down to maybe 2 more at best.

3. imagination

When I was a child, I remember the stories, scenarios and games that I would come up with to occupy my time. Imaginary friends came by often. I could dream of being anything and anyone. I would travel to faraway places and go on so many adventures. My imagination has significantly dwindled since then. I failed to use the magical spirit on a regular basis and lost it somewhere along the way. Reality does that to people. Stress over school, money, careers, the future get in the way of seeing the world as this magical place. It’s like in cartoons when there are characters who blindly refuse to believe in gravity so they can walk through the air, while the other character falls to his peril. That oblivious character is the child within all of us. Unphased by life’s demands.

I certainly don’t endore the peter pan syndrome as growing up has certainly come with its own amazing qualities but I wish I could have held on to my childhood a little longer. Especially since I was one of those who had my childhood cut short.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

