Vegetarianism: Part 2

I’ve been doing research the last little while as to how one makes this transition, what it truly means to be vegetarian, what things you can eat and what you need to eat to make up for what you’re missing.

So here’s a little vegetarian info for those who were just as clueless as I was a while ago…

there are few varieties of vegetarians.

  • semi-vegetarians eat fish and maybe a small amount of poultry as part of a diet that’s primarily made up of vegetables, fruits, grains, legumes, seeds, and nuts (until the end of 2010)
  • A pesci-vegetarian eats fish, but not poultry (until the beginning of summer 2011)
  • A lacto-ovo vegetarian eats dairy products and eggs, but excludes meat, fish, and poultry (remainder of my eating lifestyle)
  • an ovo vegetarian eats eggs but not dairy products
  • a lacto vegetarian eats dairy products but not eggs (possibility of adapting to this over time)

And that’s somewhat the order of  how I plan to go about this, finishing off ideally as a vegan a few years down the road; something else entirely brought to my attention by yet many other documentaries on the horrible mistreatment of egg-laying chickens, overworked honey bee farms or milk producing cows. Now because this decision isn’t for super strong animal activist reasons, religious or strict dietary purposes and more for a general desire, should occasion come up that I forget or break it, I don’t feel like I’ll hate myself for it nor should I be reprimanded. Should someone make something for me or there really is nothing else around or a recipe requires it for my blog, I won’t turn my nose up at eating/making a little but the overall goal is to cut it down significantly and that’s far better than what I could be doing.

Here’s a general guide as to what they eat – Vegetarian Food Guide

Another site from a dietitian’s viewpoint – Vegetarian Diets: A Dietitian\’s Guide

One last site regarding overall health that I found rather informative – Teen Health – Food & Fitness

One response to “Vegetarianism: Part 2

  1. Pingback: Going Vegan, Cold Turkey « food variables

Leave a Reply

