Home vs. Job

Where you live or what you do? Which one comes out on top?

Would you take that killer job working in your desired field? Or maybe that dream condo overlooking the city skyline?

Phocea Yacht Master Bedroom

At first this seemed like a no brainer to me so I was curious to read the answers of those who went into the other direction and I may have been persuaded otherwise.

At first glance, I automatically went for what I do for a living for the simple reason that, hey with more money, I could just buy my ideal home. But when you analyze that statement further, you'll come to find that the true root is that the home is what's important. You don't buy a place hoping you'll land a good job (at least this isn't the likely reasoning) You get a good job so you can afford a nice place. Make sense?

Jobs come and go. People change careers, positions, interests. But one thing that stays relatively stable is your home, especially when you get older. It becomes your haven, your escape at the end of a long workday. No matter how great your job, I find it hard to believe that you wouldn't mind coming home to some dump in the middle of nowhere. People spend a lot of time, money and energy into their homes to ensure a relaxing space.

That especially holds true for me. In fact, I hope someday my career allows me to work from home so that I can be continuously comforted with my surrounding. I am constantly changing the arrangement in my room, decorating it differently to suit my new moods. After long days at work or at school, nothing is more satisfying than coming home and plopping right into bed and enclosing yourself in your personal haven from the outside world.

Homes are made to be whatever you want them to be. Changed, updated, altered when the mood strikes. Somehow that doesn't seem as easy when it comes to careers. Don't get me wrong, I'd love to be some design exec for my own company, or making tons of money but at the end of the day, I'd do it all to provide myself and my future family a wonderful home to rest each day. :)

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

