30 Day Challenge – Day 3 – T.V. show

Day 3 topic: Your favourite television program

There’s no doubt in my mind that there’s one show above the rest, that I could watch over and over again (and I do) without ever getting sick of it. Seinfeld was a pop culture phenomenon that heavily influenced the lives of those in the 90s. It’s comedic routines and scripts about nothing proved that our own daily antics, behaviours and mannerisms were humorous enough. Hate it or love it, you know of it. It’s a classic show, often referenced and never forgotten. Characters that were both interesting and funny but always relate-able, each episode provided tons of laughs to go around. My favourite character was always George who never seemed to get a break in life. I have a few dozen episodes of the show on file in my computer and I regularly put it on in the background. I never tire of it.

Growing  up however, there was one show that I couldn’t get enough of; Dawson’s Creek. My sister and I would anxiously await the beginning of summer so that we could wake up early and watch the reruns of that show. We must have watched the series at least a dozen times over the years and I own one of the box sets. Although similar to many other teenage drama series, I like this one in particular for its word choice/script and setting. It wasn’t some glamorous set with perfect actors. There was a sense of reality and ability to relate that I enjoyed time and time again. So if you haven’t watched it, I suggest you do :)

T.V. and I have never had a super close bond. Take t.v. away from me (and it often is since I don’t typically opt for cable during the school year) and life continues on. I don’t think I could say the same for Internet (heaven forbid you ever attempt to take that from me). Despite that though, I’ve come to enjoy many other mentionable shows both in the past and present.

  • Boston Legal
  • Corner Gas
  • 3rd Rock from the Sun
  • anything on MTV, TLC, Slice, Food TV, Discovery networks
  • King of Queens
  • Everybody love Raymond
  • Sex  and the City
  • The Simpsons
  • Fresh Prince  of Bel Air

I’ll quit before I look like my whole life involves T.V. :P

Leave a Reply

